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As a result of legislation passed
during the 2012 Legislative Session of
the Georgia General Assembly, there
have been several changes to the
License Law. The changes became
effective on July 1, 2012 and several of
these are worth noting:

1) A “Letter of Findings” was defined and
can be used by the Commission as an
alternative to a disciplinary sanction. A
“Letter of Findings” can be used by the
Commission when it has determined that
a licensee violated the License Law but
there was no harm to a third party or to
the public. A “Letter of Findings” is
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confidential, is not a public record, and
will not appear on the license history of a
licensee. It should be taken by the
licensee as a warning from the
Commission to modify their actions to
avoid future violations of the License Law

2) A licensee must be actively licensed
for three of the five previous years before
he or she qualifies to sit for the state
examination for broker. Before enrolling
in a broker pre-license course, a licensee
can call or e-mail the Commission and an
Information Specialist will assist them in
determining whether they have met this
requirement.

...continued on page 2
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The new Real Estate Education
Manual is available online. This manual is
for use by Schools, Instructors, and those
interested in opening a school or
becoming an instructor. To access the
manual (in PDF) from the horizontal tabs
at the top of the page of the GREC web
site, click the Schools/Instructors Tab,
from the drop down, click Education
Manuals, Real Estate or this link

This manual is a comprehensive guide
regarding real estate education in Georgia
based upon the License Laws, Rules, and
Regulations and it covers the following
topics in specific terms:

1. Requirements for obtaining approval

as a Real Estate School in Georgia.

2. Requirements and standards for real
estate courses, including prelicense,
post-license, continuing education, in-
class, and distance education courses.

3. Requirements for obtaining Instructor
Approval.

4. Requirements for maintaining school,
and instructor approvals, and related
standards.

5. This manual is an excellent training
tool and reference manual for school
directors, coordinators, administrative
and support staff at the school.

...continued on page 2
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3) The maximum amount a nonlicensee
with a court judgment against a licensee
can collect from the Real Estate
Education, Research, and Recovery
Fund has been increased from $15,000
to 25,000; the maximum amount of
recovery per transaction has been
increased from $15,000 to $25,000: and
the maximum amount of recovery from a

single licensee has been raised from
$45,000 to $75,000. Notice to the
Commission of a fund claim can now be
given after a civil judgment for damages
is obtained against a licensee.

License Law Title 43-40-22 has
been updated online to reflect these
changes and can be accessed from the
GREC web site.

Real Estate Education Manual

...continued from Page 1

A Frequently Asked Questions
document for Real Estate Schools will also
be available on the GREC web site in the
near future.

As a reminder, licensed real estate
Instructors are required to renew their
licenses every 4 years. They expire on
December 31 of that 4™ year. One of the
requirements for renewal is that an
Instructor must have engaged in at least
60 hours of instructional contacts with
students in any approved course or
courses during the preceding 4 years.

In order to renew an instructor
approval, Instructors must also obtain
instructor designated continuing education

N
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that includes attendance at two GREC
Annual School Meetings.

The 2012 GREC Schools Meeting will
be held in Athens, Georgia November 29
& 30, 2012.

Review the new Real Estate
Education Manual for the specifics of
Instructor and School renewals, or click
here to review the requirements for
renewal of an instructor license.

',

~

Online Manual

“License Laws”
And
“Rules and Regulations”

The License Laws are specifc laws passed by the Georgia State Legislature
regarding professions and businesses and the real estate laws are primarily found in
Title 43 Chapter 40 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated,

Rules and Regulations amplify and clarify the laws. The Rules typically have a
notation at the end of the wording of the Rule that references the License Law it is
derived from or to which it relates. For instance, the License Law that stipulates the
gualifications of a licensee is 43-40-8. One of the Rules associated with those
gualifications is Rule 520-1.04. Rules related to Real Estate brokerage are generally
found in Rule numbers 520-1 through 520-5. These are posted online and updated by

the Georgia Secretary of State.

You can access a link to look up a Law or Rule from the Commissions’ web site

at

Other laws such as BRRETA (Brokerage Relationships in Real Estate

Transactions Act

can also be accessed from the GREC web site.
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Georgia Real Estate Appraisers Board October 2012
Year Real Estate | Appraisers
’ . Licensees

Useful What's going to 2007 103817 | 7414
Links: h ap p en when we 2008 104,856 6,848
2009 98,966 6,132
GREAB run out of 2010 96,461 5,563
Web Site . 9 2011 90,853 5,175
ap p ral S ers - 2012 86,344 4,879
By D. Scott Murphy, SRA -17% -34%

I know a lot of you are thinking this is some attorney joke. Appraisers have not made a lot of
friends these past few years as they have had to deliver the bitter reality of a declining market. But it is
no joke, the number of appraisers is dropping at an exponetial rate and far greater than companion
fields such as real estate agents. If you compare the number of licensed appraisers and real estate
licensees since the peak of the real estate market you will see a total drop of 17% for real estate
licensees and 34% for appraisers. Taking into consideration that the number of commercial appraisers

Appraisal Act

GREAB has actually edged up slightly over this period and the drop in residential appraisers is even greater.
Discigﬁnary Compounding the issue of a lack of residential appraisers — particularly those who complete
Sanctions mortgage related appraisals — is the fact that prior to 2007 the number of AMC’s (Appraisal

Management Companies) was probably less than 50 in Georgia and now there are almost 150 who
each hire dozens of staff appraisers to perform reviews. Lenders have also doubled or tripled the
number of staff review appraisers to deal with the fallout of the mortgage crisis. Many of the most
experienced appraisers have left the mortgage appraisal business to complete foreclosure appraisals

or review appraisals. This leaves a dwindling number of appraisers willing and able to complete mortgage appraisals

Furthermore, there are big barriers to entry into the appraisal business. Entering the appraisal business used to be
as easy as entering the real estate sales business. You take the required 75-90 hour course work, pass an exam and you
are in the business. But due to the amount of mortgage fraud perpetuated by appraisers, the state and federal regulators
have increased the requirements to become an appraiser. A college degree is now required and the biggest hurdle is the
requirement of 2000 hours of experience under a certified appraiser. Very few appraisers are willing to take on a trainee to
assist them in meeting this requirement. The number dropped to almost none about 5 years ago when Fannie Mae
changed one critical requirement — the certified appraiser must go on EVERY appraisal inspection. The certified appraiser
always was and still is 100% responsible for the appraisal completed by the trainee whether they inspect the property or
not. In the past, once the certified appraiser felt the trainee was capable of inspecting the property on their own, the
certified appraiser was not required to attend every physical inspection of the property. However, now that the certified
appraiser must accompany the trainee on EVERY inspection until they become licensed (accumulate the 2000 hours of
experience, take more courses and pass another exam), which takes a minimum of 12 months — most often 18-24 months,
a residential trainee will be hard pressed to find anyone who will train them. If you are a real estate licensee | imagine your
broker does not accompany you to all your listing appointments.

Some lenders have taken it even further and restrict trainees from doing any appraisal work even if the certified
appraiser accompanies them to the property. The other problem is that appraisal community used to be comprised of
mostly medium to large appraisal businesses. The number of these firms has dropped and independent appraisers are
more the norm. The large appraisal business model is more conducive to training new appraisers. It is designed to
continually adding new entry level appraisers as the firm matures and grows. Independent appraisers do not have the time
of the workflow to support training a new appraiser.

Pressure needs to be placed on Fannie Mae and these lenders who are cutting off the lifeblood to the appraisal
industry. The average age of appraisers is increasing and few new appraisers break through the barriers to entry. As the
real estate market continues to improve and the number of sales and refinances increase, supply and demand tells us that
the time to close a loan will increase and the fees for appraisals will also increase.
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