
photos alongside Debra’s other 
exclusive listings, she had created 
the perception that Judy’s properties 
were listed with her firm. The 
advertising on Debra’s website now 
contained false and misleading 
information, thereby being in 
violation of the License Laws, Rules 
and Regulations.  

Debra thought she was doing 
a neighbor a favor, but as a 
licensee, even these actions must 
be done consistent with the License 
Laws, Rules and Regulations. Debra 
failed to obtain written permission 
from Judy to advertise the two 
properties, and she failed to 
disclose to her Broker she was 
advertising the properties. Now 
Debra and her firm were advertising 
properties listed by another firm 
without that firm’s knowledge and 
consent. It is not too surprising that 
the firm that actually had the listings 
was not pleased and filed a formal 
complaint with the Commission.  

After investigating the 
matter, the Commission determined 
that no one suffered any monetary 
harm as a result of Debra’s actions, 
so the Commission issued a formal 
Citation regarding Debra’s disregard 
for the License Law.  The terms and 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

a

 

The Georgia Real Estate 
Commission Newsletter  

        Fall 2011 Issue 

OOvveerr  tthhee  FFeennccee 

  
   

  
  

  
 

Inside this issue: Over the Fence P1&2 GRECrossing P2 New Online CE P3 Investigations P3 AMK P3 Schedule P4 

 

A Semi-Annual publication to all Georgia Real Estate Licensees 

Members 
George W. Holtzman 

Chair 
Bill Bonner 

Vice Chair 
Paul G. Brower 
David J. Burge 

Scott Free 
Gwen Fulcher Young 

 
Staff 

William L. Rogers, Jr. 
Real Estate Commissioner 

Craig Coffee 
Deputy Commissioner 

Georgia Real Estate 
Commission 
Suite 1000 
International Tower 
229 Peachtree Street NE 
Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 
Phone 404-656-3916 
 

 

 

Clipart from Microsoft™ 

 

People tend to believe what 
they see in writing, 

even if the information is 
not accurate. 

Judy and Debra had 
been neighbors for 10 years and 
were casual friends. One sunny 
afternoon they were having a 
neighborly conversation over 
the fence between the two 
houses. After catching up on 
family news, Judy mentioned 
that they were having trouble 
leasing out 2 of their rental 
properties. Knowing that Debra 
was a licensed real estate 
salesperson, Judy figured she 
could get some free advice. 
Judy failed to mention to Debra 
that the properties were actually 
listed with another firm. 

During the course of the 
conversation, Debra offered to 
place photos and addresses of 
Judy’s properties on the same 
website in which Debra 
advertises other properties 
listed with the brokerage firm 
with whom she is affiliated. 
Debra intended to pass along 
any leads to Judy since Judy 
was having financial difficulties. 
Debra did not intend to work 
those properties as if she had 
them under an exclusive listing.  

By merely placing Judy’s 
properties and corresponding 

conditions of the Citation 
required that Debra pay $1,000, 
complete a correctional type CE 
course approved by the 
Commission, and required her to 
become subject to continuing 
education requirements to which 
she was previously exempt. 
Their neighborly conversation 
over the fence was a costly one 
for Debra. [Violations: Chapter 
43-40-25(b) (2) & (12) and 
Regulation 520-1-.09(2) & (3)] 

Real estate licensees 
can win clients by being helpful, 
but when that assistance 
becomes counseling or advice, 
an agency relationship can 
develop unintentionally. By 
answering questions and 
concerns “over the fence,” or on 
various social media networks, 
the licensee can leave 
him/herself open to developing 
an unwanted relationship.  

Beyond the agency 
conundrum…  continued on page 2  

http://www.grec.state.ga/�
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Property management issues 
are getting a lot of attention from investigators at the Real Estate Commission.  Licensees must 

realize that managing their own 
    

   
    
   

    
    

    

Across Clues 

1. When a licensee changes his/her residence address, how 
many days does he/she have to notify the Commission? 
3. Money belonging to others 
5. License Laws, Rules and _________      
10. Abbreviation of the Georgia law regarding agency 
relationships in real estate brokerage      
11. Document every Broker must have for managing licenses and 
the firm: __________ and Procedures Manual  
12. How many days after the listing expires must signage and 
other advertising be removed? 
13. Acronym for Georgia Real Estate Commission  
 
Down Clues 
 
2. Any money belonging to others that comes into the licensee’s 
possession must be deposited in a _________. (No spaces 
between words.)  
4. Document every Broker must have for managing licenses and 
the firm: Policies & ___________Manual.  
6. Social media, signage, web sites, listing services are all 
examples of _________. 
7. How many hours per year of CE are required to renew a real 
estate license?  
8. Quick and easy place for a licensee to renew his/her license 
and check education credits: GREC _____ site. 
9. Who has the ultimate responsibility for trust funds coming into 
the brokerage firm’s possession?                                              

 

Answers on page 3. 
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Hint: spell out numbers; do not use spaces between words. 

…continued from page 1 
is the issue of the accuracy of the 
information given. Just because it 
is written or posted on a web 
page does not mean that it is 
accurate. Providing grossly 
inaccurate and misleading 
information could be a 
demonstration of incompetency. 
      Real Estate licensees are 
held to a higher standard when it 
comes to giving advice about real 
estate related matters. Licensees 
are seen as experts in the field of 
real estate and therefore 
consumers tend to rely on the 
information they present.  

For example, if you give 
someone an opinion (such as a 
price, BPO), it must be done 

consistent with the License Laws, 
Rules and Regulations, no matter 
whether it is at a cocktail party or 
posted on Facebook©. 

Digital or electronic media 
has not changed the fact that a 
licensee must still abide by the 
License Laws, Rules and 
Regulations. However, it does 
require that the licensee be more 
aware that everything he/she 
does must be in compliance with 
those License Laws, Rules and 
Regulations. When you put it in 
writing, on Facebook©, a Blog, or 
a Tweet©, it is not only in writing, 
but may very well be posted on a 
multitude of sites by multiple 
methods of transmission. 

The License Laws, Rules 
and Regulations require that the 
Broker must be involved and 
aware of the brokerage activities 
of the licensees affiliated with 
him/her. So if the Broker 
approves the posting, 
advertising, or whatever action is 
taken, and makes sure it is done 
properly with policies, etc., it 
provides the benefit of more 
exposure and advertising for the 
Broker. However, if it is not 
done properly, there can be an 
exposure of liability for the 
Broker. Consider the implication 
of this statement in light of all 
the advertising done in various 
social media networks. 

OOvveerr  tthhee  FFeennccee…… 
 



 

Consider the licensee’s 
actions in the following situation. 
Salesperson Brandon was looking at 
some lots in a new subdivision and 
ran into the builder who casually 
mentioned that he would gladly pay a 
commission if Brandon found a buyer. 
Brandon decided to post the property 
on www.craigslist.org. Brandon 
intentionally didn’t obtain the owner’s 
written consent and decided not to 
submit the advertisement to his 
Broker for review. In order to generate 

some interest, he falsely stated in the 
ad that the property was in foreclosure 
and bank owned. He purposely did not 
include the name or phone number of 
the brokerage firm holding his license. 
Brandon was issued a Citation, required 
to pay a fine, reimburse the Real Estate 
Commission for legal, investigative, and 
administration costs, and complete a 
course of study. Brandon could have 
and should have followed the License 
Laws, Rules and Regulations in 
advertising the properties. 

   AAAbsolutely MMMust KKKnow Section …………Do you know the AMKs? 
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Every issue will include 
up to 3 critical items 
from the License law. 

All signage and 
advertising, including 
internet postings, 
must be removed 
within 10 days after 
expiration of the 
listing. 

 

When you sell your own 
home, you must notify your 
broker first, and all earnest 
money deposits must be 
deposited in your broker’s 
trust account or one your 
broker approves. 

 

If you do not have required 
education hours posted to 
your license record at the 
time of renewal, you must 
renew to inactive status and 
later change to active 
status. This avoids a lapse 
in licensure and a late fee. 

To enroll go to 
www.jmre.com/grec 

 

Case Corner   
 
The following categorizes 
the types of investigations 
that were conducted by the 
Commission in fiscal year 
2011: 
• 748 Brokerage Issues 
• 635 Pre-License or 

Application issues 
• 418 Trust Account 

examinations   
• 144 Approved Schools 

Routine examinations 
 
 

“““AAAvvvoooiiidddiiinnnggg   TTTrrruuusssttt   AAAccccccooouuunnnttt   TTTrrrooouuubbbllleee”””   
Third Online CE Course Free to All Licensees 
  

 

9 Hours Total CE Credits 
are available online upon 
completion of all 3 online 
courses. 
 

1. Practicing Real 
Estate & Staying Out 
of Trouble 

2. Being A Broker and 
Staying Out of 
Trouble 

3. Avoiding Trust 
Account Trouble 

 

www.jmre.com/GREC 
 

The 3 GREC online courses 
are PC and MAC compatible 
and require an Internet 
connection with either 
Foxfire™ or Internet 
Explorer™ as the browser. 
 

     The Georgia Real Estate Commission 
has recently released its third online 
course in the Staying Out of Trouble 
Series.  This course specifically 
addresses Trust Account issues and 
includes the following sections: 
 

1. Trust Account Requirements 
2. Handling Deposits 
3. Handling Disbursements 
4. Basics of Property Management  
5. Issues for Licensees Acting as 

Principals 
6. Accounting and Record Keeping for 

Trust Accounts, including example 
entries and checklists 

7. Trust Account Management 
 

Sample Trust Account Journal forms for 
Sales and Rental transactions are not only 
included in the course but are accessible 
and printable for anyone from the Resource 
Section of the Georgia Real Estate 
Commission School Home page at 
www.jmre.com/GREC.  

GREC also offers a classroom 
Trust Account Workshop throughout the 
year. These 2 are different courses, so 
licensees can obtain credit and additional 
instruction in avoiding trust account trouble 
by attending both the classroom class and 
taking the online trust account course. A 
schedule of the classroom course is listed 
on page 4 of this newsletter and on the 
GREC website. 

Across: 1.thirty 3.OPM 5.Regulations 10.BRRETA 11.policies 12.ten 13.GREC Down: 2.trustaccount 4.procedures 6.advertising 7.six 8.web. 9.Broker 
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Brokerage Class Schedule 
 

October 5, 2011 
GAMLS South (770) 961-2203 
October 26, 2011  
Atlanta Board (404) 250-0051 
November 16, 2011 
West GA Board (770) 949-9966 
November 29, 2011 
Southwest GA Bd. (229) 377-8986 
December 14, 2011 
Georgia Institute (800) 633-3583 

Calendar of Classes 
 

Semi-Annual Publication for all Georgia Real Estate Licensees 

 

Common Violations Class  
 

October 4, 2011 
Lake Country Board (706) 453-0823 
October 19, 2011 
400 North Board (706) 216-5229 
November 2, 2011 
East Metro Board (770) 787-3763 
November 3, 2011 
Cobb Association (770) 422-3900 
December 8, 2011 
GAMLS Training Inst (770) 493-9000 

Trust Account Class Schedule 
 

October 6, 2011 
GAMLS South (770) 961-2203 
October 27, 2011  
Atlanta Board (404) 250-0051 
November 17, 2011 
West GA Board (770) 949-9966 
November 30, 2011 
Southwest GA Bd. (229) 377-8986 
December 15, 2011 
400 North Board (706) 216-5229 
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