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SSoommeettiimmeess  TThhiinnggss  CCaann  JJuusstt  SSnnoowwbbaallll……  
Consider this actual case and decide how you would have handled it.                

  
       

  
 

As illustrated in the following 
case, a licensee’s ignorance can 
lead him down a slippery road and 
his actions can easily snowball into 
multiple violations of the Georgia 
License Law, Rules and 
Regulations.   

A salesperson decided to 
transfer his license from brokerage 
Firm A to brokerage Firm B. Upon 
request, the Broker of Firm A 
promptly released the salesperson’s 
license from the firm. However, they 
did not consult the salesperson’s 
independent contractor agreement 
regarding the handling of several 
existing listings obtained by the 
salesperson while affiliated with Firm 
A. The salesperson affiliated with 
Firm B and informed his new Broker 
in writing that no listings would be 
transferred from Firm A to Firm B. 

Two months after affiliating with 
Firm B, signs, web postings, and 
multiple listing services still 
advertised properties with the 
salesperson’s name and Firm A’s  
name and contact information. Even 
an expired listing and a   listing 
withdrawn from Firm A were still 
being advertised! In addition, the 

salesperson conducted negotiations on 
several of these listings but no   contracts 
were written.  
Several violations occurred: 
1. The salesperson continued to advertise 

properties under a Broker with which he 
was no longer affiliated. 

2. The salesperson conducted misleading 
advertising on multiple properties. 

3. The salesperson continued to advertise 
a listing that was expired. License Law 
requires removal of all advertising 
within 10 days of the listing’s expiration. 

4. The salesperson continued to perform 
real estate brokerage activity as if 
affiliated with Firm A while he was 
affiliated with Firm B without the 
knowledge and approval of Broker B.  

 

These activities are false and 
misleading to the public and violate the 
License Law. 

In determining the appropriate 
disposition in this case, the Commission 
determined that the salesperson’s actions 
demonstrated a disregard for the License 
Law but resulted in no monetary harm to 
the public. The Commission issued a 
Citation and the salesperson was required 
to pay $1,000.00 and complete several 
education courses. If he did not comply with 
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Citations: 
1) Maximum of $1,000 for 

each violation  
2) Maximum of $5,000 for 

multiple violations in one 
citation  

3) Usually requires 
completion of a certain 
course of study 

4) May require the filing of 
periodic reports on the 
broker’s trust account(s) 
by an independent 
accountant  

5) May require any 
combination of the above. 
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these conditions within 45 days, 
other disciplinary action could be 
taken against him by the 
Commission 
 

Licensee Laws Violated:  
43-40-25(b) (2) (7) (13) (14), 43-40-
19(d), 520-1-.07(1) (5) (c) (e), 520-1-
.09 (2) (2.1) 
 

(Each issue of this newsletter will 
contain an actual case study with 
reference to specific license laws that 
can be used in broker-licensee 
training meetings.) 
 

 Winter 2011 Newsflash: 

Ignorance of the Terrain can lead 
one down a Slippery Road in 

Georgia. 

http://www.grec.state.ga/�
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     William L. Rogers 
Jr. was sworn in as 
the new Real Estate 
Commissioner for 
the state of Georgia 
on Tuesday January 

Georgia Real Estate Commission News and Recent 
Changes to the License Law, Rules and Regulations 

18th. He serves as the Executive 
Officer for the Georgia Real Estate 
Commission and the Georgia Real 
Estate Appraisers Board. His 
administrative responsibilities 
include overseeing the day-to-day 
operations of the state agency 
responsible for implementing the 
license law regulating Georgia's 
over 90,000 real estate brokers and 
salespersons and the law regulating 
Georgia's 5,000 real estate 

appraisers.  
A native of Gainesville, Georgia, 

Commissioner Rogers earned his 
Bachelor degree in History at Emory 
University and a JD degree at the 
University Of Georgia School Of Law. 
After a br ief stint as a 2 nd Lieutenant 
in the U.S. Army Signal Corps, 
Commissioner Rogers was admitted 
to the State Bar of Georgia in 1971.  
Prior to joining the Real Estate 
Commission, he was a partner at 
Whelchel, Dunlap, Jarrard & Walker, 
LLP in Gainesville practicing real 
estate and banking law.  

In other news, recent law 
changes address the registering of 
Appraisal Management Companies. 

Georgia Real Estate Commission Newsletter 

Property management issues 
are getting a lot of attention from 
investigators at the Real Estate 
Commission.  Licensees must 
realize that managing their own 
property is still property 
management. In addition, Brokers 
must establish clear policies and 
procedures regarding security 
deposits and management 
agreements.   

 Jumping into property 
management requires planning 
and knowledge of the license laws 
and use of different management 
systems. Listed below are some of 
the recent, and unfortunately 
common, violations resulting in 
investigations; citations; sanctions:  
• An associate broker did not notify 

his/her broker when renting out 
her own personal real estate 

• A licensee did not place a rental 
security deposit in the broker’s 
trust account.  

• A Broker did not register a trust 

account he had established for 
property management activities. 

• A salesperson acting as a principal 
set up    her  own company to 
conduct property management, 
did not inform her broker, and 
failed to get the new company 
licensed by GREC.  

• A Salesperson acting as a principal 
in renting out her house did not 
disclose her licensure in the lease 
agreement nor give a copy to her 
Broker. 

• A Broker failed to supervise the 
property management activities of 
a salesperson and his unlicensed 
assistant. 

• A Broker did not review 
management agreements and 
rental forms resulting in 
incomplete and poorly written 
documentation. 

• A Broker allowed an  unlicensed 
assistant to perform the activities 
of a property manager. 

All of these situations are clear 
violations of the License Law, 
Rules and Regulations.  
 

    If listing activity is slow, leasing 
out vacant properties may be an  
option, but it requires                       
serious planning, otherwise one 
violation can lead to multiple 
violations. Property management 
is a specialty area of real estate. It 
requires established procedures 
for the handling of security 
deposits and rental deposits, clear 
ledger and journal entries, certain 
accounting systems, and 
familiarity with specific License 
Laws, Rules and Regulations. 

Common Property Management Violations 
 

Both the firm and the 
individual performing 
Property Management 

services are required to 
have a real estate license. 

 

 

On June 2, 2010 the Governor 
signed Georgia House Bill 1050 
that requires Appraisal 
Management Companies in 
Georgia to register with the 
Georgia Real Estate Appraisers 
Board. This bill amends O.C.G.A. 
Title 40-39A. The Commission web 
site provides a list of Appraisal 
Management Companies.  

The electronic newsletter of the 
Real Estate Commission 
announces changes in License 
Laws, Rules and Regulations as 
they are adopted. Go to 
www.grec.state.ga.us to sign up for 
the GREC RENewsletter. 

http://www.grec.state.ga.us/�


 Second Online CE Course Regarding 
 Broker Issues is Free to All Licensees 

for contract review, an advertising 
review checklist and ideas for 
preparing for a t rust account office 
examination. These tools are not 
only part of the course, but those 

lists are also available 
from the Georgia Real 
Estate           Commission 
School web page 
Resource Section at 
www.jmre.com/grec  
 

 

The 2    GREC online 
courses are PC and MAC 
compatible and require 
an Internet connection 
with either Foxfire™ or 
Internet Explorer™ as the 
browser. 
 

Although the Real 
Estate Commission works 
on a variety of investigative 
cases, certain License Law 
violations seem to occur 
repeatedly. They are listed 
below: 
• Advertising violations 
• Improper Trust account 

activities 
• Activities of expired and 

inactive licensees 
• Improper property 

management activities 
• Improper documentation 
• Lack of broker 

supervision 

• Failure to obtain broker’s 
approval 

• Licensees acting as 
principals without proper 
disclosure and failure to 
notify their broker 

• Individuals conducting real 
estate activities without a 
license 

 

Depending on the facts of the 
individual case, License Law 
violations lead to different 
types of disciplinary actions.  
 

The following actions were 
ordered by the Commission 
over the previous 6 months: 

• 123 Citations 
•   17 Disciplinary Sanctions 
•   29 Suspensions 
•   52 Cease and Desist 

Orders 
•   39 Revocations of 

Licensure 
The Suspensions category 
includes licenses suspended 
due to a default on the 
repayment of a student loan. 
This type of suspension is 
carried out by the Commission 
at the direction of the Georgia 
Higher Education Assistance 
Corporation. 

 
   AAAbsolutely MMMust KKKnow Section …………Do you know the AMKs? 
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Every issue will include 
up to 3 critical items 
from the License law. 

A Licensee can never 
convert the form of the trust 
funds received. If $500 cash 
is provided as earnest 
money, the same cash must 
be given to the Broker for 
deposit or deposited 
according to the Broker’s 
Policies and Procedures. 

Advertising real estate in 
any type of social media, 
such as Facebook© or 
Twitter©, must comply with 
the License Law, Rules and 
Regulations. Media 
includes all forms of 
advertising. 

 

Every real estate 
advertisement, 
including signs, web 
sites, etc., must include 
the brokerage firm 
name as it is licensed 
and the main phone 
number of the firm. 

To enroll go to 
www.jmre.com/grec 

 

     The Broker of the firm 
carries the responsibility for 
the licensed firm. The 
Commission introduced a 
new online course in 
October written to assist the 
Broker in managing those 
responsibilities. The online 
course titled, “Being a 
Broker and Staying Out of 
Trouble,” is for Brokers and 
all other licensees. Every 
licensee can benefit from 
the ideas,  including     those

Summary of Recent Violations 
• The Commission’s  

web site at 
www.grec.state.ga.us 
regularly posts the 
names of those 
licensees receiving 
disciplinary actions, 
such as Suspensions 
and Revocations. 
Citations are not 
posted.  

• Anyone (a licensee or 
the public) can 
search by licensee to 
view what 
disciplinary actions 
the licensee has 
received.  

 

http://www.jmre.com/grec�
http://www.jmre.com/grec�
http://www.grec.state.ga.us/�
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Brokerage Class Schedule 
 

March 30, 2011 
GAMLS-South (770) 961-2203 
April 27, 2011 
Camden Board (912) 882-5806 
May 18, 2011  
Rome Board (706) 295-1727 
June 15, 2011 
Athens Assoc. (706) 353-1126 
July 13, 2011 
Cobb Assoc. (770) 422-3900 

Calendar of Classes 
 

Semi-Annual Publication for all Georgia Real Estate Licensees 

 

Common Violations Class  
 

March 23, 2011 
Athens Assoc. (706) 353-1126 
April 20, 2011 
Hall County Board (770) 534-1564 
April 26, 2011 
Valdosta Board (229) 242-2085 
May 2, 2011 
GIRE Atlanta (404) 252-6768 
May 4, 2011 
Savannah Board (912) 354-1513 
 

Trust Account Class Schedule 
 

March 31, 2011 
GAMLS-South (770) 961-2203 
April 28, 2011 
Camden Board (912) 882-5806 
May 19, 2011  
Rome Board (706) 295-1727 
June 16, 2011 
Athens Assoc. (706) 353-1126 
July 14, 2011 
Cobb Assoc. (770) 422-3900 
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