2025 Broker Continuing Education Rule Changes

The Governor's office has approved GREC's proposed Rule changes effecting the Continuing Education (CE) requirements for Georgia Brokers. The new Rules go into effect on July 1, 2025. Here is a summary of the changes:

1. Rule change to **Rule 520-1-.05**

Georgia Brokers are now required to complete a minimum of eighteen (18) CE hours of topics specific to Broker education. The hours are a part of the 36 hours of CE currently required of Georgia Brokers during each 4-year renewal period and will address core activities performed by Brokers in their daily real estate activities.

2. Rule change to **Rule 520-2-.04**

The Broker CE courses shall be a minimum of three credit hours long and shall contain subject matter on any of the following topics: training Licensees, supervising Licensees, reviewing Brokerage Agreements, or managing a Firm.

How do these new requirements affect your upcoming renewal? Here are some FAQ's to help clarify the new requirements.

- Q: Have the number of hours required for Broker CE increased?
- A: No, the total number of hours required is still 36. Half of the hours (18) must be approved for Broker CE. Three (3) hours must be approved for License Law. The remaining fifteen (15) hours may be on any approved CE topic.
- Q: What are "Broker CE" courses?
- A: Broker CE courses are courses *must cover one or more of the following topics*: Training Licensees, Supervising Licensees, Reviewing Brokerage Agreements, or Managing a Firm.
- Q: Where can I find Broker CE courses?
- A: Any Approved RE School may offer these courses. Check with the School prior to purchasing the course to confirm that they have had it approved by GREC for Broker CE credit.
- Q: I just renewed my active Broker license. Do I need to complete the additional hours?
- A: If you have already renewed your license to Active status, no additional CE is due at this time. You will need to meet the new requirements for your next renewal (in 4 years).
- Q: My renewal due date is July 31, 2025. I have already completed all required CE under the old Rule. Do I need additional hours? A: If your renewal due date is in *July, August or September, you may renew early* (prior to July 1, 2025) and meet the old requirements. Any renewals submitted on or after July 1, 2025 will need to meet the new requirements.
- Q: Have the CE requirements for Salespersons or CAMs also changed?
- A: No, this change does not affect the CE requirements for Salespersons or CAMs.
- Q: I am a non-resident Broker, how does this apply to me?
- A: As a non-resident Broker, you may continue to meet the Georgia CE requirements by submitting proof of licensure in your resident state. Simply submit a copy of your license or pocket-card from your resident state, which shows that you are on *Active* status and have an *expiration date later than your GA expiration date*.
- Q: I hold a "grandfathered" license and am not required to take CE. Does this change my requirements?
- A: No. Any licensee who obtained their license prior to 1980, and has a less-than 6-digit license number is still exempt from continuing education. The new Rule does not change the exemption.
- Q: I previously completed a course that is now approved for Broker CE. Can I get credit for it?
- A: Unfortunately, you cannot receive Broker CE credit for courses that were not approved for Broker CE credit at the time they were taken.