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2016 Year in Review

In 2016, the Georgia Real Estate Commission obtained approval and implemented changes
to four areas of the Georgia License Law Rules, and Regulations. The following
summarizes each Rule change with a document link to the revised rule for reference.

1. Chapter 520 Rule 520-1-.08 and Rule 520-1-.14 effective June 1, 2016.

These rules, which address the handling of trust funds, have been updated to allow
brokers more options regarding trust accounts. The term “bank” was changed to
“financial institution” and the term “checking account” has been changed to “account”.
This offers brokers more flexibility in where they may hold trust funds. All trust
accounts must still be federally insured and designated as trust accounts.

lﬂ Rule 520-1-.08 Managing Trust Accounts http://rules.sos.ga.gov/GAC/520-1-.08

2. Chapter 520 Rule 520-1-.14 effective June 1, 2016.

The term “bank” was changed to “financial institution” when charging a licensee with
the following violation in a Citation: 3 (0) Failure of a licensee to have the financial
institution designate an account as a trust or escrow account, except where the
financial institution has erred. 43-40-20(b). Fine of $600.00 per account not

designated.

ﬂ Rule 520-1-.14 Citations - Effective June 1, 2016 http://rules.sos.ga.qov/GAC/520-1-.14
...continued on page 2

Good News for Appraisers

This week Fannie Mae reversed a policy regarding supervision of trainees. This change will
encourage certified appraisers to mentor trainee appraisers, who once properly trained, will
be able to inspect the subject property and the comparables. As a result, this will allow the
supervisor to focus on comparable selection and analysis and can be a critical step in fixing
the Appraiser shortage issue. This is the biggest change in the appraisal and lending that
industry in decades. Refer to the article on Page 3 of this newsletter in the Appraiser Page

section.

January 2017 Meeting - Commission Actions Taken

Cases Sent to the Attorney General for Review and Disposition by
Consent Order or by Hearing

MNone

Cease & Desist Orders Issued

None ||

Citations Issued

E

Letter of Findings |ssued

MNone

Consent Orders Entered Into

None

Final Orders of Revocation of Licensure

3

Cases Closed for Insufficient Evidence or Mo Apparent Violation

14

Licensing Cases - Applicant has a Criminal Conviction - License Issued

18

5

Total

| | Licensing Cases - Applicant has a Griminal Conviction - License Denied
"y
&

42__{/-"I

Click here to review a legend of the disciplinary actions the Commission may impose.
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3. Chapter 520 Rule 520-2-.03 (6) Rule becomes effective as of 12/31/2017.
The Rule regarding required education for Real Estate instructors was amended
to increase the required education hours for approved Georgia Real Estate
Instructors from 24 to 36 hours during the 4-year renewal period. This increase in
hours coincides with the recent increase in hours required by real estate
licensees. It also clarified how instructors may obtain the continuing education
hours. ..

e The Rule requires that 12 of the 36 hours of continuing education must be
obtained at the Commission annual meetings for approved schools and
instructors,

¢ The Rule requires that any additional instructional hours needed may be
obtained in a continuing education course that meets the requirements of this
chapter that an approved instructor teaches or any additional instructional hours
approved by the Commission for instructor continuing education.

E Rule 520-2-.03 (6) Real Estate Instructors — Renewal of Instructor Approval

4. Chapter 520 Rule 520-2-.04 (6) effective June 29, 2016.
The Rule regarding courses approved by GREC broadened the subject areas that
may be considered for continuing education course credit as well as clarifying
subject areas that may need to seek specific approval by the Commission.
Acceptable topics include, but are not limited to, commercial, property
management, business brokerage, as well as the core subject areas of Prelicense
courses. For a more detailed explanation of possible subject areas, refer to the

following document link: T8 Rule 520-2-.04 (6) (c) Real Estate Courses

ARy Focuson Terminology: “Private Mortgage Insurance- (PMI)”

Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) increases the lender’s ability to lend more
than 80% of the loan-to-market-value ratio. This private mortgage insurance protects
the lender. The purchaser/borrower either pays the premium at closing or pays a
portion of the premium at closing with a portion of the remaining amount paid each
month when the purchaser/borrower makes a mortgage payment. If the mortgage
payments are current, and the mortgage balance is 80% or less of the original value of
the home, the PMI can be removed as provided under The Homeowners Protection Act.
For example, if the borrower reaches 22% equity based on the original value of the
property, the PMI terminates. In fact, the borrower could be due a refund. Lenders must
automatically terminate PMI when the principal balance is 78% provided the loan is
current. The lender must also terminate PMI if the loan reaches the midpoint. On a 30-
year loan, the midpoint would be 15 years whether or not the 78% value has been
reached.. If the mortgage is a FHA loan or a VA loan, these rules regarding PMI do not
apply. Additionally, if the lender is paying the mortgage insurance (not a private insurer)
then the rules may vary.

In addition to being current on the loan, there cannot be any second mortgage
or other liens on the home and the lender could require an appraisal to be sure the
value of the property has not declined from its original value at purchase. Consumers
can obtain more information from the lender and can also refer to the consumer finance
website at:
http://www.consumerfinance.gov/askcfpb/202/when-can-i-remove-private-mortgage-
pmi-insurance-from-my-loan.html
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Useful Links:

Update to Appraiser Shortage*

GREAB Web Site By: D. Scott Murphy, SRA

| have a very important follow up to last month’s article — Appraiser
Shortage*. | received feedback from one Georgia appraiser who challenged my
statement that there is an appraiser shortage. He is a commercial appraiser and felt
that if anything there was an oversupply of appraisers. He is correct and | stand
corrected. There may be an oversupply of commercial appraisers but there is
definitely a shortage of residential appraisers. This is possible because commercial
B B appraisals are not affected by Fannie Mae guidelines and as | stated in my article,

GREAB DI§CID|InaW the main reason we have a shortage is due to Fannie Mae’s policy change in 2008
Sanctions requiring supervising appraisers to inspect the interior of the subject and the

comparables.

Appraisal Act

Here is an excerpt from that notice: 08-30 — November 14, 2008

Fannie Mae defines the appraiser as the individual who personally inspected the property being
appraised, inspected the exterior of the comparables, performed the analysis, and prepared and signed
the appraisal report as the appraiser. Fannie Mae allows an unlicensed or uncertified appraiser who
works as an employee or subcontractor of a licensed or certified appraiser to perform a significant
amount of the appraisal (or the entire appraisal if he or she is qualified to do so)—as long as the
appraisal report is signed by a licensed or certified supervisory or review appraiser and is acceptable
under state law. This policy is updated to now require that if a supervisory appraiser signs
the appraisal report as the appraiser, the supervisory appraiser must have performed the inspection of
the subject property.

This past week Fannie Mae issued revision to the Selling Guide. | would like to think my article
Appraiser Shortage played a part in this policy change but | know mine was just one voice amongst many who
saw this as a critical step in fixing the Appraiser shortage issue.

Fannie Mae released revisions to the Selling Guide this past Wednesday — 01/31/2017; B4-1.1-03: Appraiser
Selection Criteria.

As noted in the License and Certification section in this topic, Fannie Mae allows an unlicensed or
uncertified appraiser, or trainee (or other similar classification) that works as an employee or
subcontractor of a licensed or certified appraiser, to perform a significant amount of the appraisal (or
the entire appraisal if he or she is qualified to do so), as long as the appraisal report is signed by a
licensed or certified supervisory or review appraiser and is acceptable under state law.

...Continued on page 4

*Reference the Previous article “Appraiser Shortage” at this link.
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Appraisal Act

If a supervisory appraiser is used, the supervisory appraiser does not need to
physically inspect the subject property or comparables, but must sign the right side of
the report and certify that he or she:

directly supervised the appraiser that prepared the appraisal report,

GREAB « has reviewed the appraisal report,
Disciplinary « agrees with the statements and conclusions of the appraiser,
Sanctions e agrees to be bound by certifications as set forth in Fannie

Mae’s appraisal report forms, and
« takes full responsibility for the appraisal report.

A supervisory appraiser may not sign the left hand side of the appraisal report unless
he or she has met the requirements of the appraiser as noted in the License and
Certification section in this topic.

Some may argue that the policy has not changed but is simply being clarified. However, prior to 2008 a

trainee was allowed to sign the appraisal as the appraiser (signing on the left side) with the supervisor signing
on the right side and checking the box the he did not inspect the subject or the comparables. Effective with the
announcement 08-30 supervisors were then required to inspect the subject property and comparables. This
immediately disincentivized supervisors from using residential trainee appraisers, virtually cutting off the
opportunity for new residential appraisers to find mentors and the numbers of residential appraisers precipitately
declined ever since.
Policy change or clarification, it is critical that residential lenders update their policies to allow trainees to act as
appraiser and not require the supervisor to inspect the subject property or the comparables, as clearly outlined
in the Fannie Mae Selling Guide. This will immediately encourage certified appraisers to mentor trainee
appraisers, who once properly trained, will be able to inspect the subject property and the comparables,
allowing the supervisor to focus on comparable selection and analysis.

| welcome your comments and feedback. Please send me ideas for future articles.
Dsmurphy@dsmurphy.com

*Reference the Previous article “Appraiser Shortage” at this link.
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