December 2020 Volume 16 Issue 12 Monthly Newsletter of the Georgia Real Estate Commission

GREC RENews

To be published ir January 2021	1
6	
Happy Holidays from the Georgia Real Estate Commission!	

Calendar

Link to the Georgia Real Estate License Laws, Rules, and Regulations

Link to GREC Disciplinary Actions View Current Suspensions and Revocations

Link to Proposed Rule Changes

Georgia Real Estate Commission

Suite 1000 International Tower 229 Peachtree Street NE Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 Phone 404-656-3916



<u>This Issue</u> :	
Maintain Your CE	P.1-2
Opportunity at GREC	P.1
Disciplinary Stats	P.1
GREC Annual School Meeting	P.2
AMK Section	P. 2
Focus on Terminology	P.2

Maintain Your CE Even if Your License is Inactive.

With the challenges of 2020, some licensees decided to place their real estate license on Inactive status until they are ready to practice real estate brokerage. If a license is inactive, it is highly recommended that the licensee maintain his/her continuing education (CE) as if he/she were active. Those CE credits will be posted to your record at the Commission as you earn them. However, if you wait to take those hours until you are ready to activate your license, besides getting behind on current changes in laws and trends in the industry, the hours will add up over time. A licensee that is Inactive and applies to reactivate a license is required to have obtained the same number of CE hours as if he/she were actively practicing real estate brokerage.

Consider the following examples.

- 1. Example 1: In December 2017 a licensee paid renewal fees having completed no CE in the previous 4 years, has been on Inactive status for 3 years, and now wants to activate his/her license; Before applying for active status he/she must obtain 36 hours of CE and must have 3 of those hours in the required topic of the license law.
- 2. Example 2: If that licensee had obtained 12 hours of CE prior to the December 2017 renewal he/she would have to obtain 24 hours of CE and must have 3 of those hours in the required topic of the license law in order to become active.

In 1. & 2.the licensee will then owe 36 hours for the upcoming December 2021 renewal.

Job Opportunity at the Georgia Real Estate Commission Opening for position as Investigator with GREC. For more information, go to https://grec.state.ga.us/job-opportunity-at-grec/

	DECEMBER 2020 Meeting - Commission Actions Taken		
	Cases Sent to the Attorney General for Review and Disposition by Consent Order or by Hearing	8	
	Cease & Desist Orders Issued	3	1
	Citations Issued	7	1
	Letter of Findings Issued	1	1
	Consent Orders Entered Into	0	
	Final Orders of Revocation of Licensure	0	
	Cases Closed for Insufficient Evidence or No Apparent Violation	12	
	Licensing Cases - Applicant has a Criminal <u>Conviction</u> - License Issued	10	
	Licensing Cases - Applicant has a Criminal <u>Conviction</u> - License Denied	1	
	Total	42	
-			

Click here to review a legend of the disciplinary actions the Commission may impose.

Online Courses from GREC

approved for:

- ✓ License Law
 ✓ Continuing
 Ed
- ✓ Instructor CE
- ✓ 3 9 Hours
 CE
- 1. Being a Broker and Staying Out of Trouble
- 2. Avoiding Trust Account Trouble
- 3. Practicing Real Estate & Staying Out of Trouble

Click Here to Enroll \$10 Each

> To sign up to receive the GREC RENewsletter Click Here

Submit a Comment or suggestion Click Here

Georgia Real Estate Commission

Suite 1000 International Tower 229 Peachtree Street NE Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 Phone 404-656-3916

Maintain Your CE...

All approved Schools in Georgia are required to certify and course completions post electronically via the GREC website. GREC does not actually process that information. If you just completed a course, it does not post automatically. Most Schools will post credits within several business days, according to their School Policy. The licensee should plan and allow time for the processing of education credits to avoid missing a deadline for renewal of a license. You may always renew to inactive status and there is no fee to re-activate your license.

Rule 520-1-.05 (e) Any licensee who seeks to activate a license which has been on inactive status shall be required to have satisfactorily completed the continuing education requirements which would have been required if such licensee had been on active status or in lieu thereof, requalifying as an original applicant.

GREC Annual School Meeting

The 2020 Georgia Real Estate Commission Annual School Meeting and Georgia Real Estate Educators Association meeting was held in Savannah, Georgia. All of the safety precautions made attendees feel very comfortable.

Three insightful presentations were offered to Real Estate Educators from all over Georgia, giving them an opportunity to expand their knowledge as Instructors. The program included topics ranging from an update from the Georgia Real Estate Commission to digital storytelling, to a history of fair housing as well as defending yourself in a classroom.

Through a contract under the Commission Real Estate Research, Education and Recovery Fund, GREEA works with GREC to create and produce the annual school meeting and workshops. For information or to contact GREEA regarding membership or further information, email: <u>GREEABOARD@GMAIL.COM</u>

Absolutely Must Know Section



A licensee must first obtain the written permission of the owner, the owner's authorized agent, or the owner of a leasehold estate in order to advertise any real estate for sale, rent lease, or exchange.

Information on a website maintained by a licensee that is outdated shall be updated or removed from the website within thirty (30) days of the information becoming outdated. <u>520-1-.09</u>

(11) Any sign placed on any property offering it for sale or rent must be removed within ten (10) days after the expiration of listing. 43-40-25 (b) (11) 520-1-.09

Page 2

Focus on Terminology: "Real Estate"

"Real estate" means condominiums and leaseholds, as well as any other interest or estate in land, whether corporeal, incorporeal, freehold or nonfreehold and whether the real estate is situated in this state or elsewhere; and shall also include a mobile home when such mobile home is affixed to land. "Mobile home," as used in this paragraph, means any factory-built structure or structures equipped with the necessary service connections and made so as to be readily movable as a unit or units and designed to be used as a dwelling unit or units. <u>Georgia Code 43-40-1 (9)</u>.