July 2020 Volume 16 Issue 7

Monthly Newsletter of the Georgia Real Estate Commission

GREC RENews

Renewing Your License

GREC Job Opportunity

Focus on Terminology

Disciplinary Stats

This Issue

2020 Calendar

In-Class Schedules and Events TBA

Link to the Georgia Real Estate License Laws, Rules, and Regulations

Link to GREC Disciplinary Actions View Current Suspensions and Revocations

Link to Proposed Rule Changes

Georgia Real Estate Commission

Suite 1000 International Tower 229 Peachtree Street NE Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 Phone 404-656-3916

Renewing your License

Basic License Renewal

License Renewals

Real Estate Commission & Appraisers Board

- You can renew your license 24 hours a day, seven days a week, up to 120 days (4 months) prior to the renewal date. You must renew by midnight of your renewal due date to avoid lapsing and incurring a late fee. (Renewals include Salesperson, Associate Broker, Broker, CAM, Firm, and Appraisers.
- Online renewals will be discounted by \$25 and must be processed by midnight on last day of the month, or a late fee will apply.
- You may renew online by clicking on <u>Licensed</u>
 <u>Professionals</u> and go to the Online Services Login on the GREC home page.

Renewal Before Completing CE

P. 1-2

P. 1

P. 2

P. 2

- If you renew your license before you complete your education courses, your license is placed Inactive and you cannot practice real estate until you return your license to Active status.
- If you must renew without all required education, after you complete your education hours and the hours are posted on your record, submit a <u>Change Application</u> signed by the Broker holding your license. Once the Change Application is processed by GREC, you can practice real estate.
- For further explanation, please review the screen shot example continued on the next page.

⇒

July 2020 Commission Actions Taken

Oracia Canton the Atterney Concert for Device and Directifier by Concert Order or	
Cases Sent to the Attorney General for Review and Disposition by Consent Order or	
by Hearing	0
Cease & Desist Orders Issued	-
Cease & Desist Orders issued	2
Citations Issued	9
Letter of Findings Issued	4
Consent Orders Entered Into	1
Final Orders of Revocation of Licensure	0
Cases Closed for Insufficient Evidence or No Apparent Violation	11
Licensing Cases - Applicant has a Criminal Conviction - License Issued	7
Licensing Cases - Applicant has a Criminal Conviction - License Denied	3
Total	37

Click here to review a legend of the disciplinary actions the Commission may impose.

If you Renew Before Completing CE..

Be sure to read the entire instructions when renewing before completing CE so that you understand that your license will become Inactive. Below is an image of this renewal page. Note the areas highlighted in yellow and red.

e Courses from	Licensee Name #1234567	Status: Active	
approved for: License Law	THE FEE TO RENEW YOUR LICENSE WILL BE \$100.00	Main Menu	
Continuing Ed Instructor CE 3 - 9 Hours CE	AT THIS TIME ALL OF THE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES REQUIRED TO RENEW TO ACTIVE STATUS ARE NOT RECORDED ON YOUR LICENSE RECORD.		
ing a Broker and aying Out of	AT THIS TIME THE LICENSE CAN ONLY BE RENEWED TO INACTIVE STATUS		
ouble oiding Trust	IF ALL REQUIRED COURSES HAVE NOT BEEN POSTED BY YOUR RENEWAL DEADLINE, IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT YOU RENEW TO INACTIVE STATUS TO AVOID A LATE FEE OF \$100.00.		
count Trouble acticing Real tate & Staying it of Trouble	ONCE ALL OF THE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES ARE RECORDED ON YOUR LICENSE RECORD, TO RETURN THE LICENSE TO ACTIVE STATUS YOU MUST SUBMIT A "CHANGE APPLICATION." THIS WILL NOT REQUIRE A FEE.		
	Renew To INACTIVE Status		
K Here to Enroll \$10 Each			
	 If you do not renew your license by the deadline, then your lie "lapsed." 	cense is considered	
sign up to	 If a license is "lapsed" for more than 2 years and less than 5 years from the date of lapsing, you can reinstate that license by paying fees in Rule 520-104 and you must retake the original prelicense course (Salesperson, Broker, CAM) before you pay. If a license is lapsed over 5 years, you must start over as an original applicant for 		
GREC Newsletter lick Here	 Incensure. Therefore, it is important to pay the fee to renew inactive even if you have not yet completed your education requirements. There is no fee required to re activate your license if it has been 	Save \$25 by	
	 There is no fee required to re-activate your license if it has been renewed. 	Online instead	
	 A <u>Change Application</u> must be signed and submitted to GREC if you renew your license before education is completed. 		

Submit a Comment or suggestion Click Here

Online GREC

> Be Sta Tro Av Av Ac Es Ou

Clic

To re

RE

Georgia Real Estate Commission

Suite 1000 International Tower 229 Peachtree Street NE Atlanta, GA 30303-1605 Phone 404-656-3916

Job Opportunity at the Georgia Real Estate Commission Opening for an Information Specialist

If you or someone you know is interested in applying for the position of Information Specialist, click the following link to obtain further information regarding qualification sand the application process. <u>https://grec.state.ga.us/job-opportunity-at-grec/</u>

The Application Deadline is August 31, 2020.

Focus on Terminology: "Inactive and Lapsed"

Page 2

An **inactive** license is not affiliated with a brokerage firm, but the renewal fees have been kept current. A **lapsed** license has not been renewed, meaning no renewal fees were paid, and education requirements have not been met, and the license is not affiliated with a firm. In either case, the licensee CANNOT practice real estate brokerage.