GREC RENews

NEW Rule for "Broker CE"

This issue	
Broker CE	P.1-2
Course Content for Broker CE	P.1-2
GREC Online Course Lising	P. 2
GREC Job Opportunities	P. 3
Disciplinary Stats	P. 3
GREC Resource Links	P. 3

18 Hours Broker CE Required for All Brokers

The Georgia Real Estate Commission's Rule change regarding specific Continuing Education for Brokers (Broker CE) has been approved by the Office of the Governor.

- Effective July 1, 2025, all Associate Brokers, Brokers, and Qualifying Brokers will be required to complete a minimum of eighteen (18) hours of continuing education on the topic of Broker education.
- It does not apply to Salesperson and CAM Licensees.
- The 18 hours will be a portion of the 36 hours of continuing education currently required of Georgia Brokers each 4-year renewal period.
- The 18 hours will address specific core activities performed by Brokers in their daily real estate activities.
- The required 3 hours of License Law CE continues to apply to all Licensees.
- A course can be approved as both Broker CE and License Law CE.
- Non-resident Brokers licensed by reciprocity are not required to complete the Broker CE.

Continued on Page 2...

Course Content for Broker CE Courses

When developing Broker CE Courses, it is important to note the exact wording of the new Rule 520-2-.049 (6) (g) regarding course content.

Any course developed to qualify as a Broker Continuing Education course shall **only contain** subject material on any of the following:

- 1. Training Licensees
- 2. Supervising Licensee
- 3. Completing or reviewing Brokerage Agreements
- 4. Managing a Firm.
- The Broker CE courses are not intended to be a repeat of the License Law, Rules, and Regulations, but rather an emphasis on Managing, Training, and Supervising Licensees and a Firm.
 - "These topics are broad enough that Broker continuing education courses can be developed by real estate
 Schools and offered to Brokers practicing all types of real estate brokerage activities. Real estate brokerage
 activities include residential and commercial transactions, property management, community association
 management, apartment management, and auctions."
 - Practical application and case studies are encouraged.
 - To submit a course for approval use the revised Real Estate Course Code Request form.
 - A course can be approved as both Broker CE and License Law CE.
 - Broker CE category will be added to the <u>Approved School List</u> so students can locate Schools offering approved Broker CE courses.

18 Hours Required Broker CE

...Continued from Page 1...

- A Licensee can renew a License a maximum of 120 days in advance of the expiration/renewal date. If your
 renewal due date is in *July, August or September, you may renew early* (prior to July 1, 2025) and meet the
 old requirements. Any renewals submitted on or after July 1, 2025, will need to meet the new requirements.
- An Inactive Broker must have the 18 hours Broker CE if they activate their license after July 1, 2025.
- If a Salesperson obtains a Broker License, the Broker CE hours must be completed for the first renewal after he/she obtains the Broker License.
- If a student is taking a course, the student will receive credit for Broker CE only if the course completion is after the date the course has been approved for Broker CE.
- As Broker CE courses become available, the <u>Approved School List</u> will be updated to reflect those Schools
 offering Broker CE.

To recap, all active Brokers renewing or reinstating a license on or after July 1, 2025, will be required to have a total of 36 hours of CE:

- 1. 18 hours of Broker specific courses (Broker CE)
- 2. 3 hours of License Law. (License Law CE)
- 3. 15 additional hours of elective CE. (Real Estate CE)

Existing GREC Online Courses:

- ➤ Beginning April 1, 2025, two (2) of the GREC online courses will meet Broker CE Requirements. Licensees completing those courses after April 1 will be eligible for Broker CE credit. **See table below.**
- Any Licensee can take any of the GREC Online courses for continuing education credit. You do not have to be a licensed Broker to take Broker CE.
- ➤ Although a CE course may qualify as meeting more than one education requirement, a course only provides 3 hours of CE upon completion.
- ➤ The Practicing Real Estate & Staying Out of Trouble course does **NOT** meet Broker CE requirements.

	1. Broker CE	3 Hours CE
	2. Regular Continuing	
Avoiding Trust Account Trouble	Education	
	3. License Law Requirement	
	4. Instructor CE	
	1. Broker CE	3 Hours CE
	2. Regular Continuing	
Being a Broker & Staying Out of Trouble	Education	
	3. License Law Requirement	
	4. Instructor CE	
	1. Regular Continuing	3 Hours CE
Practicing Real Estate & Staying Out of	Education	
Trouble	2. License Law Requirement	
	3. Instructor CE	

Job Opportunities with the Georgia Real Estate Commission

Information Specialist

Description of Duties:

The primary job responsibility is to answer telephone and email requests for information within the Georgia Real Estate Commission's Call Center. Information Specialists handle questions on such issues as licensing requirements, license histories, application processing, and complaints. Information Specialists must maintain proficiency in license law, the appraisal act and other procedures and policies to effectively answer questions. Information Specialists also perform a variety of clerical duties including data entry of applications and general office duties. Click for More Information

Investigator

Description of Duties:

- Conduct Investigations as authorized by the agency in such areas as:
 - Allegations of improper activities of regulated individuals and entities in real estate transactions
 - Examination of real estate firms' operations and trust accounts
- Interview people who have knowledge of issues and evidence relative to the investigation
- Write detailed case reports of investigations for a supervisor to review.
- Testify in Administrative Law Hearings as required.
- Perform other duties as assigned by the supervisor.
 Click for More Information.

Georgia Real Estate Commission Disciplinary Stats

March 2025 Meeting - Commission Actions Taken	
Cases Sent to the Attorney General for Review and Disposition by	
Consent Order or by Hearing	0
Cease & Desist Orders Issued	0
Citations Issued	2
Letter of Findings Issued	2
Consent Orders Entered Into	0
Final Orders of Revocation of Licensure	3
Cases Closed for Insufficient Evidence or No Apparent Violation	6
Licensing Cases - Applicant has a Criminal Conviction - License Issued	5
Licensing Cases - Applicant has a Criminal Conviction - License Denied	2
Tota ¹	20

Link to GREC
Disciplinary
Actions
View Current
Suspensions and
Revocations

Click to review a legend of the disciplinary actions the Commission may impose.

Follow the Commission's Facebook® page to look for weekly GRECCONNECT topics.



GREC Resource Links

Link to Proposed,
Pending and
Adopted Rule
Changes



SUBMIT Comments & Suggestions

